100 Word Challenge – Week 20 – Ellen Mia

28th of August 2005                                                                 Hurricane Katrina

We ran towards the basement, and began to climb down the stairs. There was supposed to be four of us, Angela, Catherine, Toby and myself. But when I looked back, Toby wasn’t following us. I began to panic; he was only four years old. I ran back up the stairs, everything was so grey and miserable.

I heard a crack beneath my feet; I looked down to see his favourite toy, a plastic hyena. 

Only a week ago I was making him a sandwich but now he lost in our torn down home in New Orleans.


8 thoughts on “100 Word Challenge – Week 20 – Ellen Mia

  1. i love this story I want more, I was wondering if u wanted to be pen pals because it’s something my teacher would really like to do .

  2. This is a fantastic piece of writing, how can you put so much emotion and ideas into such a short piece?, well done!
    Excellent work. Niamh

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *